New Mum: What’s in my makeup bag?

When I was preggo I did a “what’s in my makeup bag” and was challenged by some mum friends to do another after I had the baby.

As you can see, when I was up the duff I had oodles of time to give myself home manicures and pedicures weekly and to slather my body in various oils and lotions. And though I didn’t really wear much makeup, I had a serum and various other bits.

Now my spare time is a little sparse..I either get ready during Freddie’s first nap of the Day (half an hour for this plus breakfast plus tidy up bedroom and downstairs) or if I have somewhere to be, I do it while Dan is still at home before he heads to work. In either scenario I have about ten minutes to shower, get dressed and put on any make up.

And I do wear makeup every day. I have every day since Fred was about a week old. Apart from once when I had a fever and once when I went for brunch with my girlfriends which was a strange time to not bother.

Anyways, I’m not caked in slap or putting on a full face of the stuff, but every day I’ll put on something to my face to help me feel human and alive and like me.

So here we go!

Skin

image

I cleanse my face every morning and night with this gel cleanser from No. 7 and a hot wet flannel. It gets off all traces of makeup..In the morning I put in on before I get in the shower to save time. Then I use this Simple day cream.

image

I’ll always use Laura Mercier tinted moisturiser and Mac concealer..the moisturiser evens out skin tone and gives a bit of a glow and the concealer covers up my extreme bags and dark circles. I don’t use much cos I actually have really good skin at the moment..having a baby seems to have given me lovely skin! It’s never looked so good. I normally get a lot of blackheads under my jaw and I haven’t got ANY. I don’t know if it’s the way I’m cleansing or the having a baby but something’s going right.

Anyways..I Also MIGHT wear blusher depending on if I have time/feel like it/meeting someone. Most days I don’t bother.

Eyes

image

I always add a bit of colour to my eyebrows..This new little kit from Rimmell is good..I prefer to get my eyebrows tinted when I get them threaded but I don’t really have time to go get my eyebrows done these days so this does a job.

I always wear mascara and this is a really good one from No 7.

Again depending on time and how I feel, I might line my lashes with brown eyeshadow that I bought in the queue in H&M once.

For lips I just put on a bit of Carmex and I’m done! I can’t be doing with lipstick coz then I get it all over Freddie’s head when I kiss him.

Here’s a photo of me with just the basics and then with the blush and eyeliner.

image

image

There’s not a massive difference and in both I still don’t have that much on..he key is that I feel like I’ve made an effort..don’t cringe when I catch sight of myself in the mirror and feel good! It also can all be slapped on in a rush.

And there you have it!

Leave a Reply

