VARSITY BLUES. Or second pregnancy woes. And highs.

I’m 13 weeks pregnant with my second child and it feels very different to the last time. When I was pregnant with Fred, two years ago, I remember time DRAGGING. I wouldn’t say time is flying by but the weeks are certainly slipping away unnoticed. I used to count the days until I was another week pregnant and that wait for my first scan was AGONY.

To combat that long wait, I told the midwife service that I was two weeks more pregnant than I actually was.  So I had a scan at 10 Weeks instead. As soon as I’d done it I regretted it. The scan didn’t seem far away at all and I started stressing about taking Fred along with me…in the end it was lovely seeing my baby and getting the pictures but I had to go back two weeks later anyway! What a pain. I wish I’d done that with my first pregnancy though so any new pregnant mums out there it’s  a great trick! But the logistics of going for extra scans now when I have  a toddler are compliacted and not worth it…

Another thing that’s different is the last time round I was so joyously telling everyone at work…I’M PREGNANT! This time I’m a little reluctant.. I’m still telling people, obvs. I can’t change my personality.. But I’m a little embarrassed that I’m pregnant again so soon. I’m sure there will be some people who think it’s a bit odd but in general people don’t care, they’re just happy for me. I should stop being so coy really.

I remember unrelenting tiredness in the first weeks of pregnancy with Fred.. This time it seemed so so so much worse.. I was getting terrible headaches, dizziness and nausea.. Also had  a sinus infection so there was about a month where Dan had to do all the cooking, cleaning and childcare while I lay about groaning. I don’t remember it being this bad with Fred but I guess back then if I couldn’t do anything it didn’t really matter cos we had no responsibilities! This time I only work part time so I don’t like to take sick leave, I can’t nap whenever I like, working from home is difficult cos Fred is there with my parents, and I have a little person who’s absolute favourite thing is making me lie on the floor while he jumps on me and climbs over my head. It probably is quite fun though tbf.

I guess in general though I’m just a bit more chilled out about everything… And I also know more about the amazing bits of equipment you can get so my online baskets are getting pretty full… Hello ergo 360, stocke tripp trapp, sleepyhead and snuzpod!

Here are some photos of Fred’s favourite thing.

image

Leave a Reply

