Desperately Seeking Maternity Wear

So it’s a well known fact that I love shopping. That I’m pretty much addicted to clothes and shopping. LOL GIRLS LOVE SHOPPING AND SHOES LOL.

I’m sorry to womanhood for being a cliché but I do fight the patriarchy daily so I think it’s ok. Apart from when I took my husband’s surname. Ahem.
I’M A MODERN FEMINIST NO ONE DICTATES TO ME WHAT THAT LOOKS LIKE.

Ok. Moving on.
I love shopping. I buy new clothes monthly. Often more.
However I’m on a massive economy drive; Meal planning, packed lunches, weekly shops in Aldi, making filter coffee in the office instead of picking one up from pret. NO CLOTHES.
We need to get ourselves out of a bit of a hole and get SAVING.. For when I’m on mat leave.
The other day I went through my calendar with my mat leave policy and a calculator, adding up my monthly salary from now until next October, factoring in half pay and no pay deductions…making a budget and building possible savings targets. I’m VERY good at planning budgets. I’m not so great at the execution.

But back to shopping.
While I can’t shop, I CAN dream. And plan. And plot.
Next month I can shop!

What do I need?
I need work clothes. And tops. And ray bans.
Need.

This is what I’ve come up with as a realistic wish list…

image

I’ve explored the Topshop website and found a really versatile black maternity tube skirt.. Great for work AND play. Great with tights AND bare legs. Perfect.
Also some dark maternity jeans can be dressed up or down and will look really good for work with colourful flats and a blouse.
I’ve picked out a loose but interesting white tshirt and a grey sleeveless top.
Everything here is versatile, dress uppable and dress downable…
And some Ray Bans. Cos I’ve been rocking the same pair of white wayfarers since 2008 and when Dan used to borrow them he made them too big and they won’t stay on my face anymore.

And that’s my wish list!
Perfect transitional, early mat wear.
Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

