SuperMama

So yesterday I had a very smug morning..Fred had a long lie in til 5.20am..(!!) and it was my turn to get up with him. Fred is consistently waking up at 4 or 4.30 am at the mo so you can understand my rejoicing. So up I got.. He was in an excellent mood so I put on peppa pig (ba ba beg being barked at me from the moment he saw me and 5am too early an hour to worry about too much TV) and put on the coffee machine.. I’ll probably just veg out on the sofa til I wake up properly right?
No! Not today, my good man!

I have friend, Lucy Vest, who writes a blog with her sister called “The Two Saving Sisters”.. It’s really good check it out.. Anyways she’s been instagramming her daily 5.30am starts where she gets up before her kids and does yoga or works out. I felt inspired!

So I got out my yoga mat and the Ipad and set myself up in the kitchen to do an ante natal yoga sesh. It was 56 minutes long and I managed about 30 mins before Fred came climbing on me wanting attention. I figured I’d ignored him enough by then and gave in. I’ve been trying to make him wait for my attention a bit recently in prep for when the baby comes.. It’s still 5 months away but every little helps!

So after playing the ceebeebies Ipad games with him for bit I was still feeling productive.. So I made a birthday cake for my sister in law. And then I made a chili!

Then Dan came down and I realised it was only 7.15am. Look at everything I’d achieved! Wow. I should just embrace early mornings with Fred..I feel amazing! I’m going to get up at 5am on work days and do a 30 minute yoga video before i get ready! I’m clearly N early morning person!

By midday I’d completely crashed. In the extreme. Grouchy, crying, zero energy, feeling shaky.

Hmm.
Not so smug anymore.

I’d been so happy to feel in control of my life and feeling like I could get fit and be healthy without feeling rushed and tired. Being pregnant, working, commuting and parenting an 18 month old are taking it out of me. There’s no time for LIFE! I’m going to bed at 8pm and constantly worried about sleep and rest. I thought I’d cracked it.

But hey. That’s what being a mum is all about I’ve found. And that’s ok.
It was still a lovely morning and I did really enjoy the yoga! And luckily it was a Saturday so I could take  nap while Dan watched Fred. Nothing bad happened!

I guess what I’m trying to say is to embrace those SuperMama moments..and not give myself a hard time when it doesn’t last.. It can’t last forever and that chili was the best I’ve ever made so there.

image

How can I distract Fred? Give him his own armchair!

Leave a Reply

